Tuscumbia, Alabama
County Stats




Originally settled as early as 1810 and part of Franklin County, Colbert County was created by the Alabama Legislature on February 6, 1867. It was abolished by the constitutional convention on November 29, 1867, and re-established by the legislature on Feb­ruary 24, 1870. Colbert County is located in the northwestern part of the state. It encompasses approximately 600 square miles. The county was named after George and Levi Colbert, noted Chickasaw chiefs who resided in the county. It is bordered by Lauderdale, Lawrence, and Franklin Counties, Mississippi, and the Tennessee River. An election in 1870 established the county seat at Tuscumbia. Colbert County was the birthplace of Helen Keller.

Courthouse: 201 North Main Street,
                     Tuscumbia, AL 35674
                      (256) 386-8542

Probate Judge: Daniel Rosser

Sheriff: Frank Williamson

Circuit Clerk:  Mark Eady

District Attorney: Bryce Graham Jr.

Revenue Commissioner: Tommy Oswalt

County Commissioners: David Black;  Jimmy Gardiner;  Charles Hovater;
                                          William Smith;  Tommy Barnes;  Darol Bendall

Population: 54,824

Municipalities within: Cherokee; Leighton; Littleville; Muscle Shoals; Sheffield; Tuscumbia

For more information: